Product review · Project

Fashion Victim

It doesn’t happen often, but I recently got swept up in a trend.  I didn’t mean for it to happen.  Even now, on the other side, I’m not 100% sure exactly how it happened.  But it did.  So here’s how it went.

A couple of weeks ago, I started seeing some buzz about the newest issue of Vogue Knitting on Ravelry, particularly about this super-cute knit and leather purse that was featured therein.  I must admit that I scoffed a bit.  Then I noticed it was from Makers Mercantile, which I have mentioned in a previous post.  So I went to their site.  The purse in question was one of the featured products that popped up on their homepage, so I saw it almost immediately.  It was so insanely cute that I actually gasped out loud, which is not a thing I often do.  I don’t often do that, so my husband actually wandered over to see what I was looking at.  “That’s cute,” he said. “Get it!”  It is an expensive kit, which would normally rule it out for me.  But it was so…damn…cute.  I could feel myself giving in.  “It looks like if Ugg made a knitted purse kit.”  I said, though I don’t know why.  I don’t actually like Uggs, though I have a pair. (Hey, I live in Alaska.  It gets cold.)  The product listing pointed out that you could knit different bags and just fasten them in to the leather cage part.  This was also an excellent selling point.  I love modular things.

Well, long story short.  I caved an put in my order.  They were backordered on the particular kit I wanted (black leather and cream/natural yarn), but would have more…at some point.  So I kind of forgot about it for a little bit, then I got a ship notice!  It showed up in short order, and as soon as I opened the box, the bag lust hit me again. The kit I ordered contained the leather cage, 3 balls of Woolie Bullie super-bulky boucle yarn, and a set of snaps, which purport to be removable and usable in other linings, should I make any different ones.  The leather is very sturdy, and is well put together.  I believe that it will last quite well.  The yarn has a lovely sheepy look to it when it is knit up. It is catchy, though, so you do have to be aware of that when knitting it. Despite having two projects already in the works (about which more in a post coming soon), I cast on almost immediately.  The “almost” came from some slight difficulty in getting the correct needles, which I overcame by working it up differently than the pattern said, and also the need to get lining fabric.  (You can get lining fabric with the kit, but I didn’t love any of the patterns they had available.)  The knitting part was done in very short order – one evening of work saw it done.  I spent the next night sewing it together, and voila!  It is done.

DSC07747.JPG

I’m very happy with how it turned out!  My stuff will be nice and cozy in the cold weather, and I have a cute, but hardy looking little bag to accessorize with.  Also, I have some ideas of other purses I can make to swap into the cage as well.  So all-in-all, not regretting getting swept away by the trend.  🙂

Leave a Reply

