Project

Just Geekin’ Along

Part of my knitting overload this year stems from the fact that I’m taking part in a block-of-the-week afghan knit-along, specifically the Lattes & Llamas Geek-Along. The Lattes & Llamas girls have been doing their annual Geek-Alongs for a few years now, and I’ve collected the patterns I like for a few of the past years. They do cool themes, like Science, Fandoms, and video games. But I haven’t felt moved to join in until this year. Because this year, the theme is Superheroes!  Specifically, it is DC vs. Marvel, which is a rivalry dear to my heart.

And I don’t know why that is, because when I do read comic books (and I do) they are mostly oddball things from fringe publishers.  Like Flaming Carrot comics from Dark Horse and Reid Fleming: World’s Toughest Milkman. That sort of thing.  But anyway, I digress.  Of the two main comic companies, I definitely lean to the Marvel side of things. From DC, I like Catwoman, and that’s about it.  And some very specific versions of Catwoman at that.  I could rant on for a while about why I like Marvel better than DC, but this is a knitting blog, so I will let that go by the wayside for now.  Suffice it to say – Go Team Marvel!

Like with much of knitting, you can kind of do what you want on this project.  For example, the organizers are doing this project as double knitting, but I’m not.  I’m just using intarsia and/or stranded colorwork, depending on the section, and its working out fine so far.  Likewise, I have skipped a couple of the DC blocks so far, but not too many. Here is what I have done so far…

dsc08183.jpg

Anyway, once a week, a new block comes out, and you knit it if you want to.  It’s a pretty low pressure way to get an afghan done, which is kind of nice.  I am about 3 blocks behind the current times, but that’s not bad, since I can knock a square out in a determined evening of knitting.  And I’m making myself wait until I’ve finished another minor project until I let myself catch up.  So in a couple of weeks I’ll finish what I’ve missed.  As an end result, in about a year, I’ll have a bright, fun afghan just bursting with geeky goodness.  And I’m pretty sure I’ll be glad I did!

Leave a Reply

